Preview: Stars Try to Bounce Back Tonight against the Senators

Can Dallas follow up with a bounce back game after losing last night in Boston?

Three games into the season and we’re already seeing a list of “firsts” pop up. Today’s game will be the first game of the season where the Stars are playing after a loss. It’s the first time they’ll be playing on the second night of a back-to-back. It’s also the first game of the year in which Anton Khudobin gets the start in goal.

All that being said, it’s a good opportunity for us to see how the Stars bounce back from a very lackluster performance in Boston. A performance in which Dallas went 0-6 on the owner play. They were outshot 40 to 28, including 17-5 in the first period.

Tonight’s opponent, the Ottawa Senators, are also coming off a 3-1 loss on Saturday. Theirs was against the Toronto Maple Leafs in Toronto.

Dallas Potential Lineups

Jamie Benn (14) - Tyler Seguin (91) - Alexander Radulov (47)
Jacob Peterson (40) - Roope Hintz (24) - Joe Pavelski (16)
Michael Raffl (18) - Radek Faksa (12) - Denis Gurianov (34)
Joel Kiviranta (25) - Luke Glendening (11) - Tanner Kero (64)

Esa Lindell (23) - Miro Heiskanen (4)
Ryan Suter (20) - Andrej Sekera (5)  
Joel Hanley (44) - Jain Hakanpaa (2)

Anton Khudobin (35)  
Braden Holtby (70)

The Ottawa Senators

The Senators had the unique experience of opening the season with a home-and-home against the Toronto Maple Leafs. The Senators won the first game on Thursday 3-2 before dropping the second game 3-1 on Saturday.

The Senators, like the Stars, are looking to rebound after last season’s disappointment of not making the playoffs. Today’s game with Dallas will open a four game home stand for Ottawa. A home stand in which they’re hoping to come away with points in all four games.

Dallas and Ottawa will get the season series over in a hurry. After today, they will play again in 12 days when the Senators visit the American Airlines Center.

Ottawa’s Potential Lines

Tim Stutzle (18) - Joshua Norris (9) - Drake Batherson (19)
Nicholas Paul (21) - Shane Pinto (12) - Connor Brown (28)  
Alex Formenton (10) - Chris Tierney (71) - Tyler Ennius (63)
Zachary Sanford (13) - Logan Shaw (20) - Parker Kelly (45)

Thomas Chabot (72) - Arterm Zub (2)
Victor Mete (98) - Nikita Zaitsev (22)
Nick Holden (5) - Joshua Brown (3)

Anton Forsberg (31)  
Filip Gustavsson (32)