Jamie Benn Named NHL First-Team All-Star for Second Time in Career

It is the third consecutive selection to the post-season all-star team for Benn and the second time in his career he received first-team honors.

Dallas Stars captain Jamie Benn was named the best left wing in the 2015-16 NHL regular season at the conclusion of the 2016 NHL Awards on Wednesday, picking up his third consecutive nomination to the post-season NHL All-Star team.

For the second time in his career, it was a first-team selection - not bad for a fifth-round pick from small-town British Columbia.

The Dallas Stars captain was a first-team all-star in 2014 and a second-team all star last year. He is still the only Stars player in franchise history to receive first-team honors; Sergei Zubov, Marty Turco, Derian Hatcher, Mike Modano and Brian Bellows all had second-team spots in their careers.

Benn finished third in the NHL in goals and second in points with 41 and 89 respectively, both topping his Art Ross Trophy campaign from last season. He also finished just barely out of the top 10 in playoff scoring - 12th - with 15 points despite being eliminated in the second round. He is also the only of the highest-scoring forwards in the league to play a huge role on his team's penalty kill.

Beyond the scoring, Benn brings a dynamic physical and competitive edge to the Stars that the league is finally realizing, as evidenced by the Hart Trophy finalist nod this season. Even when partner in offensive crime Tyler Seguin went down with another fluky injury, this time a lacerated Achilles tendon, Benn kept rolling right along and spearheaded the fearsome Stars offense.

The second team featured RW Vladimir Tarasenko, C Joe Thornton and LW Alex Ovechkin with defensemen Brent Burns and Kris Letang and Ben Bishop as the goalie.