Jamie Benn Named Finalist For Ted Lindsay Award

The Ted Lindsay is voted on by members of the National Hockey League Players Association, awarded to the most outstanding regular season player in the league. Dallas Stars Captain Jamie Benn is a finalist for the award for the second year in a row.

In many industries, the most compelling award you can win often comes from a group of your peers -- the ones who understand the nuances of what you do and what it takes to be successful. Many of the awards in the NHL are voted on by the NHL Professional Writers Association, but several exist that are voted on by either the general managers or players within the league.

The Ted Lindsay, which is awarded to a player deemed to be the most outstanding during the regular season, is voted on by the players. For the second season in a row, Jamie Benn has been named one of the finalists for the award. He is joined by Chicago Blackhawks Patrick Kane and Washington Capitals Braden Holtby.

Benn finished second this season in overall points with 89, only behind Kane's 106 for the league lead. He finished third in the league in goals scored with 41. He played the third most minutes in the league among forwards. A key member of the penalty kill for the Dallas Stars, he helped to improve the penalty kill to be top 10 in the league. He also led the top offense in the league.

In other words, Benn was basically a beast all season long.

While Kane's numbers are higher than Benn's, Benn plays in all situations for his team, providing him with a more well-rounded game than Kane's primarily offensive role. Holtby put up top numbers in the league among goaltenders, and is considered the favorite to win the Vezina Trophy for his efforts.

It's not a runaway contest for any of the finalists, but Benn has just as good of a chance to win as either of the other candidates.

This is Benn's second consecuitve season to be named a finalist for the Ted Lindsay award. Last season, Jamie Benn was named a finalist along with Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin and Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price. Price would go on to win the award.