Florida Panthers Goal Counts on Reversed Goaltender Interference Challenge
The Dallas Stars see their first coach's challenge in action this season, and came out on the worst side of it.
The first coach's challenge occurred in a Dallas Stars game tonight when a Florida Panthers goal was waived off due to goaltender interference. Unfortunately, the goal was reversed after the Panthers challenged the call on the ice.
Here's video of the goal:
Barkov goal pic.twitter.com/mTa8nBh8Yd— Stephanie (@myregularface) October 18, 2015
Not sure if the gif got the full interference that happened prior to the goal, so we'll update if that becomes available. This was one of the calls that looked like it could go either way. Kari Lehtonen did not ever settle back into position after getting interfered with in his own crease. However, that was quite a bit of time between when the coincidental contact happened and when the goal was scored.
It brings up an interesting question of the amount of time that a goaltender has to get reset before the play is considered "normal" again. Apparently it's a shorter amount of time than what occurred with the Stars goaltender tonight. The NHL's explanation of the call is here. However, it seems like a clear cut case of goaltender interference minor penalty that was never called.
From our very own Erin, our hockey rules nerd, the specific parts of the goaltender interference rule book that applies to this play:
"If a goalkeeper, in the act of establishing his position within his goal crease, initiates contact with an attacking player who is in the goal crease, and this results in an impairment of the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.
If, after any contact by a goalkeeper who is attempting to establish position in his goal crease, the attacking player does not immediately vacate his current position in the goal crease (i.e. give ground to the goalkeeper), and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed. In all such cases, whether or not a goal is scored, the attacking player will receive a minor penalty for goalkeeper interference."
Calls like this are going to happen, and all that matters is how you respond after it. The Stars fell apart a bit after the call was reversed, and put themselves in a 2-0 hole fairly quickly.