clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Dallas Stars Broadcasters Ralph Strangis and Daryl Reaugh Win Lone Star Emmy (Again)

New, comments

The Stars long-lived broadcasting duo picked up their fifth statewide award last weekend as they were once again named the best play-by-play/analyst crew in the region.

Ralph Strangis and Daryl Reaugh always swear they will deliver an award-winning broadcast to the Dallas Stars faithful. And once again, they have come through on that promise.

The Stars dynamic duo of television and radio broadcasting was named the best in Texas yet again as they walked away with the Lone Star Emmy award for top sports Analyst/Play-By-Play duo last weekend.

This is the second consecutive award for Ralph and Razor (AP Style dictates I call them "Strangis and Reaugh," but they are Ralph and Razor in the hearts and minds of all Stars fans) and their fifth win in the category overall.

The other nominees in the On-Camera Talent - Sports Analyst/Play-By-Play were Amanda Scarborough of the Longhorn Network, Mark Followill, Derek Harper and Jeff Wade of the Dallas Mavericks broadcast crew and Steve Busby and Tom Grieve, along with the rest of the crew, with the Texas Rangers.

Along with the Buffalo Sabres, the Stars are among the only teams in the NHL to simulcast their broadcast using the same crew for both television and radio. After all, a Stars game wouldn't be a Stars game without the dulcet tones of Ralph and Razor.

The game that appeared to be submitted for consideration was the season opener against the Phoenix Coyotes of last year's lockout-shortened campaign. While Ralph and Razor are obviously the headliners in the category, a huge thumbs up must also go to producer Jason Walsh and executive producer Mike Anastassiou, as well as all those unnamed crew members who make Ralph and Razor look their best.

(Or sometimes make them look like this. That's perfectly acceptable too.)

Congrats, boys. You've earned it yet again.

Here's the official release from Fox Sports Southwest.

FOX Sports Southwest received five Emmys at the 2013 Lone Star Emmy Awards Saturday night in San Antonio. The awards recognize broadcast excellence in Texas and are presented by the Lone Star Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

For the second consecutive year, Dallas Stars announcers Ralph Strangis and Daryl Reaugh picked up the Emmy as the best play-by-play and analyst team. It marked the fifth time the Stars broadcasters have won the award.

FOX Sports Southwest’s critically-acclaimed documentary, Wurzburg To Worldwide: How Dirk Became Dirk!, won an Emmy for the best Sports Documentary. The program chronicled the life and basketball career of Dallas Mavericks star Dirk Nowitzki from his hometown of Wurzburg, Germany to an NBA champion with the Mavericks.

Two FOX Sports Southwest programs also won Emmys at the 11th annual awards gala.

High School Spotlight, the longest-running series on FOX Sports Southwest, earned its third Emmy in the Sports Program category.

Mavs Insider, the weekly magazine show covering the Dallas Mavericks, was recognized with an Emmy for the best Sports Series.

Kevin Lewis and Jeremy Ward, who served as technical directors on FOX Sports Southwest’s 2012 UIL High School Football Championships, captured the Emmy in the Director-Technical Director category.

"It’s rewarding to know that our talent continues to be recognized by the industry’s peers," said FOX Sports Southwest Senior Vice President/General Manager Jon Heitdke. "I’m proud of the high-quality of work our talented staff consistently achieves to produce the best sports programming in the state and region."

The five wins brings FOX Sports Southwest’s Lone Star Emmy total to 49.