clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2012: Defending Big D's Calder Trophy Ballot

The 2012 NHL Awards take place next month in Las Vegas but until then, the SB Nation hockey crew decided we were going to vote on the awards ourselves. After all, we're much more qualified to make such decisions compared to the PWHA, general managers and owners....right? Each day this week and into next we'll announce one winner, continuing today with the Calder Trophy.

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League." This year's winner, at least according to SB Nation, is....

Gabriel Landeskog, Colorado Avalanche

Second Place: Adam Henrique, New Jersey Devils

Third Place: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Edmonton Oilers

This was the easiest award to vote for. Landeskog was easily one of the most impressive forwards in the NHL, not just as a rookie. What impressed me the most was how he always seemed so mature as a player on the ice, playing like a seasoned veteran instead of a true rookie.

My ballot: (1) Gabriel Landeskog, (2) Jake Gardiner, (3) Matt Read

As we move through these awards it's obvious that either a) I have no clue what I am doing here or b) I prefer to use metrics that most don't. For me, it's not just about point totals it's about the total package and I felt that both Gardiner and Read had tremendous seasons for their teams -- and that's why I voted for them.