clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2012: Defending Big D's Norris Trophy Ballot

Getty Images

The 2012 NHL Awards take place next month in Las Vegas but until then, the SB Nation hockey crew decided we were going to vote on the awards ourselves. After all, we're much more qualified to make such decisions compared to the PWHA, general managers and owners....right? Each day this week and into next we'll announce one winner, continuing today with the Norris Trophy.

The James Norris Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the National Hockey League's top "defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position."The winner, according to SB Nation, is...

Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

Second place: Zdeno Chars, Boston Bruins

Third Place: Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators

Here is my ballot for the award: (1) Alex Pietrangelo, (2) Zdeno Chara, (3) Erik Karlsson

Once again, the ultimate winner of this award was completely left off my ballot. Why did I not believe Shea Weber even deserved a vote? I believe in the ultimate spirit of the award, that the Norris belongs to the best all-around defenseman -- not just the one that scores the most points or has the best offense. Weber is a great defenseman and one that we'd love to have in Dallas, but I didn't feel that he had his best season and certainly not better than the three I had on the ballot.

I feel like this award is many times a reputation award as well. I think that, when it really boils down to it, Alex Pietrangelo had the more impressive season out of any defenseman in the NHL. And that is why I voted how I did.