clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jamie Benn Named To 2012 NHL All-Star Game Roster

New, comments
He won't be our little secret for much longer.
He won't be our little secret for much longer.

Word out of Stars' camp today is that Jamie Benn has been informed by the league that he'll be playing in the 2012 NHL All-Star Game in Ottawa on January 29th.

Benn leads the Stars in scoring with 42 points in 41 games this year (13 goals, 29 assists) and is a +10 on the season. This is his first (of many) All-Star appearance. It had been speculated that Loui Eriksson would be the lone representative from the Stars but he has not been chosen with his 14 goals and 24 assists (38 points) and a +12 rating on the year.

There is still a chance that Eriksson could attend the festivities if enough of the selected players decline due to injury, which happens every year. Loui Eriksson was one of the game's best players last year with a game high four points, though lost MVP honors to Patrick Sharp of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Elsewhere in the conference the Chicago Blackhawks get three in (Hossa, Toews and Kane). Kane has the same 38 points as Loui Eriksson in two additional games played and is seven worse in the plus/minus column, if you want to get into it. Nashville takes two in Shea Weber and Ryan Suter. The Sharks get just one in Logan Couture, and the Coyotes send Keith Yandle.

Brad Richards and James Neal have not been invited to attend (though Neal could have declined).

Congratulations to Jamie Benn. See the full roster here and after the jump.

Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks
Tyler Seguin, Boston Bruins
Jason Pominville, Buffalo Sabres
Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
Marian Hossa, Chicago Blackhawks
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks
Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Mikko Koivu, Minnesota Wild
John Tavares, New York Islanders
Marian Gaborik, New York Rangers
Claude Giroux, Philadelphia Flyers
Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins
Logan Couture, San Jose Sharks
Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning
Phil Kessel, Toronto Maple Leafs
Joffrey Lupul, Toronto Maple Leafs
Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals


Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Brian Campbell, Florida Panthers
Ryan Suter, Nashville Predators
Shea Weber, Nashville Predators
Dan Girardi, New York Rangers
Kimmo Timonen, Philadelphia Flyers
Keith Yandle, Phoenix Coyotes
Alex Edler, Vancouver Canucks
Dennis Wideman, Washington Capitals
Dustin Byfuglien, Winnipeg Jets


Jimmy Howard, Detroit Red Wings
Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings
Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens
Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers
Brian Elliott, St. Louis Blues

12 Rookies

Luke Adam, Buffalo Sabres
Justin Faulk, Carolina Hurricanes
Gabriel Landeskog, Colorado Avalanche
Ryan Johansen, Columbus Blue Jackets
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Edmonton Oilers
Craig Smith, Nashville Predators
Adam Henrique, New Jersey Devils
Adam Larsson, New Jersey Devils
Colin Greening, Ottawa Senators
Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers
Matt Read, Philadelphia Flyers
Cody Hodgson, Vancouver Canucks