2013 Dallas Stars Season In Review: Save Of The Year

Ronald Martinez

As we close the door on the 2013 season, we look at the great plays of the year. Today, we look at the best goaltender stops of the season and ask you to pick the save of the year.

The lockout sure knows how to mess up a plan, doesn't it? The season felt like it had just ended when we started talking draft and free agency. Then Dallas Stars general manager Jim Nill remade the roster in a span of a few days with some big trades and acquisitions. It's been a bit of a whirlwind since the end of the season. Now that the proverbial dust has settled and we hit the duldroms of the hot summer days of August, we take a look back at the season and close out what was by picking the plays of the shortened season. Today, we look at the saves of the year. Friday we'll look at everyone's favorite -- goals of the year. You can see the hit of the year here.

The save of the year this season may be more or less a contest for "second best save of the year." We all know that the save that had Lehtonen and the Dallas Stars trend on Twitter and end up on ESPN Sports Center is going to win this in overwhelming fashion. However, goaltenders are fun to watch at work, so we put together the best saves of the year here anyway. Keep calm and Kari on, Stars fans.

What is your save of the year?

January 22, 2013 vs Detroit Red Wings - Lehtonen with a sliding glove save on Brunner

January 24, 2013 vs Chicago Blackhawks - Lehtonen stops a 2-on-1 chance

January 28, 2013 vs Columbus Blue Jackets - Lehtonen behind-the-back glove save

January 29, 2013 vs Detroit Red Wings - Lehtonen with a kick save on Datsuyk

February 8, 2013 vs Anaheim Ducks - Lehtonen steals a Selanne goal

February 23, 2013 vs San Jose sharks - Nilstorp puts the stops on Couture

February 28, 2013 vs Edmonton Oilers - Nugent-Hopkins stoned on Lehtonen's doorstop

March 3, 2013 vs St Louis Blues - Lehtonen denies Oshie

March 14, 2013 vs Anaheim Ducks - Snappy glove save by Lehtonen

March 23, 2013 vs Colorado Avalanche - Sitting on the puck works to stop it, too!

April 3, 2013 vs Anaheim Ducks - Lehtonen with a sprawling save

April 21, 2013 vs Los Angeles Kings - Lehtonen gets an assist to make this OT save

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Defending Big D

You must be a member of Defending Big D to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Defending Big D. You should read them.

Join Defending Big D

You must be a member of Defending Big D to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Defending Big D. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9355_tracker