Dallas Stars Release 2013-2014 Schedule; Open At Home Versus Florida Panthers

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The 2013-2014 NHL schedule was released today. What are the key matchups for the Dallas Stars this season?

The National Hockey League schedule release in the summer is kind of like Christmas for hockey fans. We can sit down and plan out the next eight months of our social lives around key matchups. We can purchase ticket plans and organize road game watching parties.

After the announcement that the NHL will have its players competing in the winter Olympics in Sochi next February, the full schedule for all 30 teams was released. You can download the full Dallas Stars schedule in all its glory at the bottom of the story below. The break for the Olympics will run from February 9, 2014 to February 25, 2014.

Redditer and DBD reader Hunter Smith has built a few schedules in various formates (XML, HTML, iCal) for your downloading pleasure if you want to check that out. Big thanks to Hunter for doing that work for Stars fans. You can find the schedules here.

The Stars will start the season at home versus the Florida Panthers on October 3rd. The first road games of the season will be a back-to-back set, when they travel to met new division opponents the Winnipeg Jets on Friday, October 11th and then the Minnesota Wild on Saturday, October 12th. Other games you may want to circle on the calendar:

  • Tuesday, November 5th - Tyler Seguin and Rich Peverley will face the Boston Bruins in Boston for the first time since they were traded. (Boston visits the Stars at home on Thursday, January 16th.)
  • Saturday, November 9th - defending Stanley Cup champions Chicago Blackhawks pay their first visit to the AAC
  • Thursday, November 21st - Brad Richards and the New York Rangers come to town for the first time in over a year
  • New Years Eve will see the Stars host the Los Angeles Kings at the AAC in their long-standing tradition of games at home that night.
  • Saturday, January 4th - the Detroit Red Wings' one and only appearance on Stars home ice this season, as they move to the Eastern conference

As the Stars stated earlier this summer, Mike Modano's jersey retirement will occur on Saturday, March 8th versus the Minnesota Wild. We'll have more details about the group we are organizing for this game soon, so be on the lookout for that. It will be the only way you're likely to see the Modano jersey retirement game, as the Stars are expecting a sold-out crowd.

Of the 41 home games this season, 10 of them will be on Saturdays at the AAC. In a fun quirk in scheduling, there are no home games on Wednesdays this year. January will be the month to make your travel plans to visit Dallas, as the Stars host 10 games in that month (the most in any month of the season.) There will be 13 sets of back-to-backs this season.

Also new this season is the fact that all 29 other teams will come through Dallas, and that divisional road games will start at a reasonable 7-8 PM CT instead of the 9:30 PM CT starts when the Stars resided in the Pacific division. Peace out, Pacific!

Here is the official release from the Dallas Stars and the full schedule:

FRISCO, Texas - The Dallas Stars will open the 2013-14 National Hockey League regular season with a two-game homestand, commencing Thursday, October 3 against the Florida Panthers, which is followed by a game against the Washington Capitals on Saturday, October 5. The Stars will open the road portion of their schedule with a three-game road trip from October 11-15.

List view of schedule

Calendar view of schedule

A CLOSER LOOK AT THE STARS' 82-GAME SCHEDULE

The Stars are scheduled to play 82 games during the 2013-14 campaign, with 41 contests at home and 41 on the road. The NHL approved a new realignment and division-based playoff format in March that placed Dallas in a more geographically friendly division. As part of the new realignment plan, Dallas will now be in a division with Chicago, Colorado, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg. Dallas' placement in the new division means that most divisional road games will now start between 7:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m., changing from the 9:00 p.m.-or-later start times that were common in the past.

The Stars schedule breaks down in the following format:

vs. Division Opponents (29 Games):

Five games vs. five teams (3 home/2 away vs. three teams; 2 home/3 away vs. two teams).

Four games vs. one team (2 home/2 away) with teams rotated on a yearly basis.

vs. Western Conference Opponents (non-division, 21 Games):

The Stars will play their other non-division Western Conference opponents 21 times (Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver), facing off against each club three times (2 home/1 away vs. three teams; 1 home/2 away vs. four teams).

In total, Dallas plays 50 games against their Western Conference foes.

vs. Eastern Conference Opponents (32 Games):

Also new for 2013-14, the Stars will now faceoff against Eastern Conference teams two times each season (1 home/1 away), ensuring that every team will play in every building at least once this season.

In total, Dallas plays 32 games against their Eastern Conference opponents.

The home portion of the schedule features 19 weekend contests (6 Friday, 10 Saturday, 3 Sunday).

The Stars longest homestand of the season is five games, which happens on two separate occasions. The first is from from Dec. 27 to Jan. 4 against Nashville (27th), St. Louis (29th), Los Angeles (31st), Montreal (2nd) and Detroit (4th); the second five-game homestand is from Jan. 21-30 against Minnesota (21st), Toronto (23rd), Pittsburgh (25th), Colorado (27th) and New Jersey (30th).

Dallas' longest road trip of the season spans five games, from March 29 to April 6 versus St. Louis (29th), Washington (1st), Carolina (3rd), Tampa Bay (5th) and Florida (6th).

Dallas concludes the home portion of their schedule on Friday, April 11 against St. Louis. The club ends the regular season on Sunday, April 13 against the Phoenix Coyotes in Glendale, Arizona.

Winter Olympic Game Break

The NHL season will pause from Sunday, Feb. 9 to Tuesday, Feb. 25 as part of the NHL and NHLPA's involvement in the 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia. Dallas' final game before the break is on Saturday, Feb. 8 at home against the Phoenix Coyotes. The club will return to action at home on Thursday, Feb. 27 against the Carolina Hurricanes.

STARS SCHEDULE NOTES

Home Games by Day: Mon. - 4, Tues. - 7, Wed. - 0, Thurs. - 11, Fri. - 6, Sat. - 10, Sun - 3

Road Games by Day: Mon. - 5, Tues. - 10, Wed. - 2, Thurs. - 7, Fri. - 2, Sat. - 9, Sun - 6

Home Games by Month: Oct. - 5, Nov. - 5, Dec. - 8, Jan. - 10, Feb. - 2, Mar. - 9, Apr. - 2

Road Games by Month: Oct. - 7, Nov. - 7, Dec. - 7, Jan. - 5, Feb. - 3, Mar. - 7, Apr. - 5

Opponents' Visits to Dallas (41)

Anaheim-1, Boston-1, Buffalo-1, Calgary-2, Carolina-1, Chicago-3, Colorado-3, Columbus-1, Detroit-1, Edmonton-2, Florida-1, Los Angeles-1, Minnesota-2, Montreal-1, Nashville-3, New Jersey-1, NY Islanders-1, NY Rangers-1, Ottawa-1, Philadelphia-1, Phoenix-1, Pittsburgh-1, St. Louis-2, San Jose-1, Tampa Bay-1, Toronto-1, Vancouver-2, Washington-1, Winnipeg-2.

Stars' Visits to Road Cities (41)

Anaheim-2, Boston-1, Buffalo-1, Calgary-1, Carolina-1, Chicago-2, Colorado-2, Columbus-1, Detroit-1, Edmonton-1, Florida-1, Los Angeles-2, Minnesota-2, Montreal-1, Nashville-2, New Jersey-1, NY Islanders-1, NY Rangers-1, Ottawa-1, Philadelphia-1, Phoenix-2, Pittsburgh-1, St. Louis-3, San Jose-2, Tampa Bay-1, Toronto-1, Vancouver-1, Washington-1, Winnipeg-3.

1st Half/2nd Half

The Stars will play 20 of their first 41 games at home, while finishing the second half with 21 of the final 41 games at home.

Back-to-Back Series

Overall: 13 sets (26 games total)

Back-to-back games at home: 6 Back-to-back games on the road: 20

Road game followed by home game next day: 2

Home game followed by road game next day: 4

Home game followed by home game next day: 0

Road game followed by road game next day: 7


Date Visitor Home Time (CT) TV Network/Results
Thu Oct 3, 2013 Panthers Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Oct 5, 2013 Capitals Stars 7:00 PM
Fri Oct 11, 2013 Stars Jets 7:00 PM
Sat Oct 12, 2013 Stars Wild 7:00 PM
Tue Oct 15, 2013 Stars Avalanche 8:00 PM
Thu Oct 17, 2013 Sharks Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Oct 19, 2013 Stars Kings 9:30 PM
Sun Oct 20, 2013 Stars Ducks 7:00 PM
Thu Oct 24, 2013 Flames Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Oct 26, 2013 Jets Stars 6:00 PM CBC
Mon Oct 28, 2013 Stars Sabres 6:00 PM
Tue Oct 29, 2013 Stars Canadiens 6:00 PM RDS
Fri Nov 1, 2013 Avalanche Stars 7:30 PM
Sun Nov 3, 2013 Stars Senators 12:00 PM
Tue Nov 5, 2013 Stars Bruins 6:00 PM
Thu Nov 7, 2013 Stars Red Wings 6:30 PM
Sat Nov 9, 2013 Blackhawks Stars 7:00 PM
Wed Nov 13, 2013 Stars Oilers 9:00 PM
Thu Nov 14, 2013 Stars Flames 8:00 PM
Sun Nov 17, 2013 Stars Canucks 7:00 PM
Thu Nov 21, 2013 Rangers Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Nov 23, 2013 Stars Blues 7:00 PM
Tue Nov 26, 2013 Ducks Stars 7:00 PM NBCSN
Fri Nov 29, 2013 Blackhawks Stars 7:30 PM NHLN-US
Sun Dec 1, 2013 Oilers Stars 5:00 PM
Tue Dec 3, 2013 Stars Blackhawks 7:00 PM NBCSN
Thu Dec 5, 2013 Stars Maple Leafs 6:00 PM
Sat Dec 7, 2013 Flyers Stars 7:00 PM
Tue Dec 10, 2013 Blackhawks Stars 7:30 PM
Thu Dec 12, 2013 Stars Predators 7:00 PM
Sat Dec 14, 2013 Stars Jets 2:00 PM CBC
Mon Dec 16, 2013 Stars Avalanche 8:00 PM
Tue Dec 17, 2013 Avalanche Stars 7:30 PM
Thu Dec 19, 2013 Canucks Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Dec 21, 2013 Stars Sharks 9:30 PM
Mon Dec 23, 2013 Stars Kings 9:30 PM
Fri Dec 27, 2013 Predators Stars 7:30 PM
Sun Dec 29, 2013 Blues Stars 5:00 PM
Tue Dec 31, 2013 Kings Stars 7:00 PM
Thu Jan 2, 2014 Canadiens Stars 7:30 PM RDS
Sat Jan 4, 2014 Red Wings Stars 7:00 PM
Mon Jan 6, 2014 Stars Islanders 6:00 PM
Thu Jan 9, 2014 Stars Devils 6:00 PM
Fri Jan 10, 2014 Stars Rangers 6:00 PM
Sun Jan 12, 2014 Islanders Stars 5:00 PM
Tue Jan 14, 2014 Oilers Stars 7:30 PM
Thu Jan 16, 2014 Bruins Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Jan 18, 2014 Stars Wild 8:00 PM
Mon Jan 20, 2014 Stars Predators 7:00 PM
Tue Jan 21, 2014 Wild Stars 7:00 PM NBCSN
Thu Jan 23, 2014 Maple Leafs Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Jan 25, 2014 Penguins Stars 7:00 PM
Mon Jan 27, 2014 Avalanche Stars 7:30 PM
Thu Jan 30, 2014 Devils Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Feb 1, 2014 Stars Ducks 9:00 PM
Tue Feb 4, 2014 Stars Coyotes 8:00 PM
Wed Feb 5, 2014 Stars Sharks 9:30 PM
Sat Feb 8, 2014 Coyotes Stars 7:00 PM
Thu Feb 27, 2014 Hurricanes Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 1, 2014 Lightning Stars 2:00 PM
Mon Mar 3, 2014 Sabres Stars 7:00 PM NBCSN
Tue Mar 4, 2014 Stars Blue Jackets 6:00 PM
Thu Mar 6, 2014 Canucks Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 8, 2014 Wild Stars 7:30 PM NHLN-US
Mon Mar 10, 2014 Blue Jackets Stars 7:30 PM
Tue Mar 11, 2014 Stars Blues 7:00 PM
Fri Mar 14, 2014 Flames Stars 7:30 PM
Sun Mar 16, 2014 Stars Jets 7:00 PM
Tue Mar 18, 2014 Stars Penguins 6:00 PM
Thu Mar 20, 2014 Stars Flyers 6:00 PM
Sat Mar 22, 2014 Senators Stars 2:00 PM
Mon Mar 24, 2014 Jets Stars 7:30 PM
Tue Mar 25, 2014 Stars Blackhawks 7:00 PM
Fri Mar 28, 2014 Predators Stars 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 29, 2014 Stars Blues 7:00 PM
Tue Apr 1, 2014 Stars Capitals 6:00 PM
Thu Apr 3, 2014 Stars Hurricanes 6:00 PM
Sat Apr 5, 2014 Stars Lightning 6:00 PM
Sun Apr 6, 2014 Stars Panthers 4:00 PM
Tue Apr 8, 2014 Predators Stars 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 11, 2014 Blues Stars 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 13, 2014 Stars Coyotes 8:00 PM
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Defending Big D

You must be a member of Defending Big D to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Defending Big D. You should read them.

Join Defending Big D

You must be a member of Defending Big D to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Defending Big D. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9355_tracker